Stove-Top Macaroni & Cheese

Mid-way through the week!

I have to admit, I was surprised that I haven’t been sick after working at an urgent care for the past 5 weeks. Well, I spoke too soon. I decided to stay home today because I haven’t been feeling well, and I didn’t want to run myself down even more by trying to cram in three 12-hour shifts in a row this week. I’ll go back to work tomorrow, but in the mean time, I have been resting up and catching up on my fall TV shows. Two of my favorites are New Girl & Modern Family.

 

I decided to make some comfort food for dinner tonight to help me feel better. Macaroni and Cheese immediately came to mind! I found this recipe on Cooking Light, and I made a few changes and additions.

Stove-Top Macaroni and Cheese (adapted from Cooking Light)

-Makes 6 (1 1/2 C) servings

        

Ingredients:

-4 C uncooked medium elbow macaroni

-3 T all-purpose flour

-1 tsp salt

-1/4 tsp black pepper

-2 1/4 C fat-free milk

-3 wedges Laughing Cow Blue Cheese, softened

-1 1/4 C (5 oz.) shredded reduced-fat sharp cheddar cheese

-1 bag frozen peas, cooked

Directions:

-Cook pasta according to directions on box. Drain and set aside.

-Combine flour, salt, and pepper in a large saucepan. Add milk, stirring until blended. Drop cream cheese into milk mixture.

-Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring constantly. Reduce heat and simmer for 2 minutes, or until cream cheese melts and sauce is thick, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.

-Add cheddar cheese, stirring until melted. Combine pasta and cheese sauce in a large bowl, toss well.

-Add cooked peas to pasta.

Have you seen these videos? My sister sent them to me last night, and I think they are too cute!

Have a great night!

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: See One, Do One, Teach One « Pamcakes & Coffee

  2. Pingback: GymBoss and Playlist « Pamcakes & Coffee

Leave a Reply

