Pumpkin Sangria

Happy Friday!

While I was on my dinner break the other night at work, I was watching the Food Network with Sandra Lee. After the commercial break, she was going to make Pumpkin Sangria. Obviously, this caught my attention because I love everything pumpkin this time of the year. Since I didn’t get to watch the segment, I googled the recipe when I got home. I was hoping to find all of the ingredients so that I could make the drink tonight, since the whole family is coming over to celebrate my birthday early (Bday is Halloween). Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find the pumpkin spice liqueur. Even though I won’t be making the sangria tonight, I wanted to share the recipe with you guys. Instead, I left with this Pumpkin Ale. I love seasonal drinks!

           

Pumpkin Sangria (from the Food Network with Sandra Lee)

-Makes 6 servings

Ingredients:

-1 bottle of white wine, chilled

-1 C pumpkin spice liqueur, chilled

-3 C mango peach or tropical juice blend, such as V8 Splash

-2 T sugar

-2 T maple syrup

-1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

-6 cinnamon sticks, for garnish

-6 pumpkin candies, for garnish

Directions:

-In a pitcher, combine the wine, juice, and pumpkin spice liqueur. Stir.

-In a small bowl, combine the sugar and pumpkin pie spice and mix. Transfer to a saucer.

-Add the maple syrup to a separate saucer. Dip the rim of each wine glass into the maple syrup, followed by the sugar and spice mixture.

-Add the sangria into each rimmed glass. Garnish with a cinnamon stick and halloween candy.

Doesn’t that sound delicious? For dinner tonight, we are making sweet & sour chicken over rice with vegetables. I will post the recipe soon! My grandmother always makes the best vanilla birthday cake, which I’m looking forward to! :)

What is your favorite seasonal drink? I would have to go with Samuel Adams Octoberfest & Pumpkin Spice Coffee!

Are they calling for snow in your area? We are supposed to get 2-4″ of snow tomorrow! oy!

4 Comments

  1. For Thanksgiving, my siblings and I are each supposed to find a recipe to contribute to the dinner menu…I’m thinking this sounds perfect! Well, maybe I should first find a side dish considering four out of seven of us (myself included!) can’t legally enjoy this recipe! ;)

    And YES! Snow in October?! Way too soon!!

Leave a Reply

