Buffalo Chicken Soup

I love not having work on Thursdays, especially when it means I can catch up with a friend who is also off! We went to the mall and found some good finds in Ann Taylor Loft (my favorite) and New York and Company. We also got some fro yo, which was a tradition for us when we lived in the city. I got cake batter fro yo, and A obviously topped hers with tons of fruit! :)

After making my Autumn Salad with Chicken the other night, I had some leftover chicken that I wanted to use tonight. I came across this recipe for Buffalo Chicken Soup, which I made because I am on a blue cheese kick! Let me tell you, it tastes JUST like buffalo chicken dip. It’s also very spicy!

Buffalo Chicken Soup (adapted from this recipe)

     

-Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

-1 T butter

-1/2 lb. chicken, cut into bite-sized pieces

-1/2 C onion, diced

-1/2 C celery, cut into small pieces

-1/2 C carrots, cut into small pieces

-2 tsp. garlic juice

-1 1/2 C chicken stock

-2 T Frank’s Hot Sauce

-1 small potato, peeled and cut into small pieces

-1/2 C heavy cream

-Salt and pepper to taste

-2 T blue cheese

Directions:

-Melt the butter in a large pan over medium heat.

-Add the chicken and cook until golden brown.

-Add the onion, celery, and carrots, and cook until tender.

-Add the garlic and flour, and cook about 1 min.

-Add the chicken broth to the pan.

-Add the hot sauce and potatoes and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer 20-30 minutes.

-Season with salt and pepper. Add cream and blue cheese and stir. Remove from heat when cheese melted.

-Serve with crackers.

I would definitely make this again. I think it would be a hit with the bf, and it would be great for football Sundays! :)

What is your favorite fro-yo combination?

Leave a Reply

