Jersey Girl

I hope everyone is having a great week! Tomorrow is my LAST day of rotations. Ever. And graduation is less than a week away. I am one happy girl! :)

My morning started off well because my favorite Wawa employee surprised me with sample bags of the Pumpkin Spice coffee to take home with me. You all must know by now that this pumpkin coffee is my favorite, and it is not for sale and only available for a limited time. The office manager at the Ob/Gyn office also surprised me with a nice card and candle, since I will only be working in the hospital tomorrow.

      

After living in NJ since May, I am finally moving back home to PA this week. While I am very excited about this, I will definitely miss a few things about living “down the shore”:

The gorgeous  views and weather:

 

Small town livin’: One of the many perks of living in a small town (off season) is that you get to know some of the people who also live on the island.

The boardwalk (and my favorite coffee shop): I really enjoyed getting coffee and going for long walks on the boards on my days off. I love many of the stores on the boardwalk, so it was also fun to window shop! ;)

       

Independence: While it did get lonely at times, it was nice to live on my own. I tried so many new recipes in this kitchen (like Pumpkin Chili and Funfetti Donuts), and I was able to put effort into new hobbies (such as this blog)!

          

Not pumping gas: I must have become a (temporary) Jersey girl because I can’t remember the last time I pumped my own gas!

The food: This applies more for the summer, but NJ has great, fresh seafood (and fro-yo). Old Bay pizza, anyone?

    

My rotation sites: I honestly lucked out with getting wonderful sites for my rotations. I really enjoyed working in the pediatric, family practice, urgent care, and women’s health offices down here. I found everyone to be so friendly and welcoming! I feel very fortunate that I had these opportunities.

Overall, it has been a great experience in NJ, but I’m looking forward to moving home and seeing what is in store for me next! Fingers crossed the job search goes well.

Do you prefer small towns or the city life better? I have certainly experienced both after living in Center City Philly last year and the shore this year! :)

6 Comments

  1. I live in Philly, but we have a shore house in Sea Isle and LOVE being down the shore. This post just made me sooo jealous of you. It’s nice being down there during the off season. As long as I didn’t live down there EVERY off season I think I would enjoy it.

    I think we have a lot in common. You are in PA school I am in pharmacy school I start my year of rotations in may.

Leave a Reply

