‘Tis the Season To Be Merry

…does anyone know what movie that quote is from? Christmas Vacation! A classic.

I hope that everyone had a great Christmas! :)

On Friday, I made these Peppermint Brownie Bites. I followed the recipe from Picky Palate exactly, except I used white chocolate chips and crushed mini candy canes. I would definitely recommend using mini muffin liners rather than cooking spray to make it easier when it is time to take the brownies out of the pan to cool.

The rest of the night was spent wrapping presents and getting ready for the holiday weekend!

          

On Christmas morning, we had “Maine Stay French Toast”, which we prepared the night before. This is a great breakfast/brunch dish, and it is always a favorite!

Maine Stay French Toast

-Serves 6-8

        

Ingredients:

-2 T maple syrup

-1/2 C butter

-1 C brown sugar

-1 loaf French bread, cut into 1″-thick slices

-5 eggs

-1 1/2 C milk

-1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

-Mix syrup, butter, and brown sugar, and simmer until syrupy.

-Pour over the bottom of a 9 x 13″ pan. Place 8-10 slices of the French bread on top of the syrup mixture.

-Mix eggs, milk, and vanilla and pour over bread. Cover with clear wrap and refrigerate overnight.

-Remove wrap and bake at 350 for 30-45 min, until lightly browned.

-Cut into slices and flip over syrup side. Serve warm.

After breakfast, we opened gifts. Santa brought me a lot of goodies for the kitchen this year, including a new blender, milk frother, and accessories for my Keurig! My sister and brother-in-law also surprised me with MacGourmet, which is a program for my Mac which allows me to organize all of my recipes and notes in one place. I will definitely be copying all of my recipes over into the program this week!

        

We had dinner with my family, and then B and I headed over to his Mom’s house later in the day. I always look forward to her Cuban sandwiches and coffee! I’ve been saying how I want to learn how to make Cuban coffee, since it is so delicious. I will be experimenting this week!

    

Today is also a special day because B and I met 3 years ago. We don’t have an official anniversary, so I always remember this date! I can’t believe how quickly those few years went, and I look forward to many more to come. The picture on the left was our first picture together.

      

Now, it is time to relax. It has been a very busy few days! Have a great night. :)

What foodie gifts did you receive or give this year?

9 Comments

  1. Pingback: Wine and Cheese Pairing « Pamcakes & Coffee

  2. Pingback: 11 Things « Pamcakes & Coffee

  3. Pingback: 100th Post | Pamcakes & Coffee

Leave a Reply

